NO. 10 OF 1998

THE COMMUNITY SERVICE ORDERS ACT

	SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION	
	List of Subsidiary Legislation	
		Page
1. The 0	Community Service Orders (Case Committees) Regulations	3

THE COMMUNITY SERVICE ORDERS (CASE COMMITTEES) REGULATIONS

ARRANGEMENT OF REGULATIONS

Regulation

- 1. Citation
- 2. Establishment of committees
- 3. Constitution of committees
- 4. Duties of committees
- 5. Meetings of Committees
- 6. Procedure at meetings
- 7. Quorum of a Committee
- 8. Voting
- 9. Records
- 10. Committees may regulate procedure

SCHEDULES

COMMITTEES		

THE COMMUNITY SERVICE ORDERS (CASE COMMITTEES) REGULATIONS

[Legal Notice 32 of 2000]

1. Citation

These rules may be cited as the Community Service Orders (Case Committees) Regulations.

2. Establishment of committees

- (1) There are hereby established the community service orders Case Committees set out in the First column of the Schedule hereto.
- (2) The area in respect of which each committee is established is set out in the Second column of the Schedule.

3. Constitution of committees

- (1) Each Community Service Order Case Committee, hereinafter referred to as a committee, shall consist of a chairperson and nine members appointed by the Cabinet Secretary and a National Co-ordinator who shall be an *ex officio* member.
- (2) The members of a committee, other than *ex officio* members shall hold office for a period of three years, but shall be eligible for reappointment.
- (3) Any member of a committee may at any time resign his office by notice in writing addressed to the secretary who shall forward it to the Cabinet Secretary.
- (4) A community service officer stationed within the area in respect of which a committee is established shall be the secretary of the committee.
 - (5) All appointments to a committee shall be notified in the Kenya Gazette.

4. Duties of committees

The duties of a committee shall be-

- (a) to examine and review the work of a community service programme in the area.
- (b) to submit returns to the National Committee;
- (c) to implement the polices of the National Committee;
- (d) to sensitize the local community on matters relating to community service orders;
- (e) to review the progress of each individual offender;
- (f) to receive and consider reports from the community service officer;
- to make recommendations concerning the community service programmes to the National Committee;
- (h) to advise and assist community service officers in the execution of their duties;
- to ensure that community service officers perform their duties in a satisfactory manner.

5. Meetings of Committees

A committee shall hold a meeting for the transaction of general business at least twice in a year and at such other times as the chairperson may direct.

6. Procedure at meetings

The chairperson shall preside at every meeting at which he is present, and in the case of his temporary absence, the members present and constituting a quorum shall elect a chairperson from among the members.

7. Quorum of a Committee

A quorum of a committee shall be four members.

8. Voting

- (1) The decisions of a committee shall be by a majority of votes.
- (2) The chairperson shall have a casting as well as a deliberative vote.

9. Records

The secretary shall maintain records of proceedings of committee and perform such other duties as may be assigned to him by a committee.

10. Committees may regulate procedure

Subject to the provisions of these rules a committee shall have powers to regulate its own proceedings.

SCHEDULE

[r. 2]

COMMITTEES

Name of Committee Area in Respect of which Committee is Appointed

Mombasa Committee Mombasa District.

Service Case Committee

Kwale Community Service Kwale District.

Case Committee

Taita/Taveta Community Taita/Taveta District.

Service Case Committee

Baringo Community Baringo District.

Service Case Committee

Koibatek Community Koibatek District.

Service Case Committee

Nakuru Community Nakuru District.

Service Case Committee

Kericho Community Kericho District.

Service Case Committee

Bomet Community ServiceBomet District.

Case Committee

Nandi Community Service Nandi District.

Case Committee

Uasin Gishu Community Uasin Gishu District.

Service Case Committee

Keiyo Community Service Keiyo District.

Case Committee

Trans Nzoia Community Trans Nzoia District.

Service Case Committee

Marakwet Community Marakwet District.

Service Case Committee

Samburu Community Samburu District.

Service Case Committee

Kajiado Community Kajiado District.

Service Case Committee

Narok Community Service Narok District.

Case Committee

Bureti Community Service Buret District.

Case Committee

Marsabit Community Marsabit District.

Service Case Committee

Mandera Community Mandera District.

Service Case Committee

Wajir Community Service Wajir District.

Case Committee

Garissa Community Garissa District.

Service Case Committee

Makadara Community Eastlands Area.

Service Case Committee

Kibera Community ServiceKibera and Nairobi West Area.

Case Committee

Juvenile Court Service Central Business District and Westlands Area.

Case Committee

Meru North Community Meru North District.

Service Case Committee

Turkana Community Turkana District.

Service Case Committee

West Pokot Community West Pokot District.

Service Case Committee

Laikipia Community Laikipia District.

Service Case Committee

Busia Community Service Busia District.

Case Committee

Kisumu Community Kisumu District.

Service Case Committee

Bondo Community ServiceBondo District.

Case Committee

Siaya Community Service Siaya District.

Case Committee

Migori Community Service Migori District

Case Committee

Kuria Community Service Kuria District.

Case Committee

Kisii Community Service Kisii District.

Case Committee

Nyamira Community Nyamira District.

Service Case Committee

Homa Bay Community Homa Bay District.

Service Case Committee

Kakamega Community Kakamega District.

Service Case Committee

Vihiga Community Service Vihiga District.

Case Committee

Butere/Mumias District.

Community Service Case

Committee

Bungoma Community

Bungoma District.

Service Case Committee

Mt. Elgon Community Mt. Elgon District.

Service Case Committee

Lamu Community Service Lamu District.

Case Committee

Malindi Community

Malindi District.

Service Case Committee

Kilifi Community Service

Kilifi District.

Case Committee

Tana River Community Tana River District.

Service Case Committee

Murang'a Community

Murang'a District.

Service Case Committee

Maragua Community Maragua District

Service Case Committee

Kirinyaga Community Service Case Committee Kirinyaga District.

Nyandarua Community

Nyandarua District.

Service Case Committee

Nyeri Community Service Nyeri District.

Case Committee

Kiambu Community

Kiambu District.

Service Case Committee

Thika Community Service Thika District.

Case Committee

Embu Community Service Embu District.

Case Committee

Meru Community Service Meru District.

Case Committee

Machakos Community Machakos District.

Service Case Committee

Kitui Community Service Kitui District.

Case Committee

Mwingi Community Mwingi District.

Service Case Committee

Makueni Community

Makueni District. Service Case Committee

Meru South Community

Meru South District.

Service Case Committee

Mbeere Community Mbeere District.

Service Case Committee

Isiolo Community Service Isiolo District.

Case Committee